My Elementary School & Other Weird Places I’d Like to Live

When I was a kid I remember wishing that I could live at my school.  Not because I loved school so much I wanted to be there all the time.  (I was a good student, but let’s not go crazy.) But because I thought it would be really cool to have my run of the place, as my home.  I could envision a classroom as my bedroom, and so on.  To give you an idea of the layout, my elementary school was a single level and rectangular in shape, with one long hallway that ran all the way around the building.  The hallway opened to classrooms on either side, and in between some classrooms, there were long stretches of big windows that opened to courytards in the middle of the school.  As a child I could see having gardens in the courtyards, and playing there too.  I always thought it would be a really neat place to live. 

I still do actually.  I’ve always been able to envision myself living in a non-traditional space like a church or a fire station, or some other random building.  My husband and I once looked at buying a place in Vermont that had a loading dock.  It was a brick warehouse, but was manageable in size.  Manageable enough for us to consider transforming it into a home/studio anyway.  I don’t remember exactly why we didn’t go for it in the end.  But I think the main reason was its proximity to railroad tracks.  (They were about 15 feet behind the building.)  Good for a warehouse, bad for a house-house.

If you’re looking for a non-traditional home right now, there just happens to be a former church for sale in Noank, CT.

It’s definitely unique!  This heavenly property is available for a mere $895,000.  At that price it should be considered a sin not to buy it! (Sorry, I couldn’t resist.) Click here if you’d like to see more information about this home!

I’m curious to hear if anyone out there lives in or has thought about living in a non-traditional home.  Please let me know your story!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

